August 27, 2015

A&E AND LMN TO PREMIERE TWO NEW DOCUMENTARIES CHRONICLING THE TROUBLING PERSONA OF O.J. SIMPSON AND THE CRIMINAL AND CIVIL TRIALS AGAINST HIM

SHOCKING AUDIO RECORDINGS MADE BY O.J. AND GRIPPING

CIVIL TRIAL DEPOSITION TAPES UNEARTHED

 

ON THE EVE OF THE 20TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE CRIMINAL TRIAL VERDICT

“THE SECRET TAPES OF THE O.J. CASE: THE UNTOLD STORY”

PREMIERES WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 30 AT 8PM ET ON LMN

 

 “O.J. SPEAKS: THE HIDDEN TAPES”

PREMIERES THURSDAY, OCTOBER 1 AT 9PM ET ON A&E

 

NEW YORK, NY – August 27, 2015 – Marking 20 years since the verdict of the criminal trial, A&E and LMN will premiere two new event specials providing unprecedented access into the criminal and civil trials against O.J. Simpson. LMN will premiere the two-hour, “The Secret Tapes of the O.J. Case: The Untold Story” on Wednesday September 30, at 8pm ET, and A&E will premiere the two-hour, “O.J. Speaks: The Hidden Tapes” on Thursday, October 1, at 9pm ET.

 

On October 3, 1995, the "trial of the century" culminated with O.J. Simpson's acquittal on the charges of the murders of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ron Goldman. Two decades later, shocking recordings and interviews, much of which have never been heard until now, are revealed in the new A&E and LMN documentaries. Lawrence Schiller, filmmaker, author and close confidant to Robert Kardashian, shares his unique and exclusive access into the case and trials against Simpson.

 

The LMN special, “The Secret Tapes of the O.J. Case: The Untold Story,” reveals new insights into both the events surrounding the verdict of the criminal trial, and the various disturbing facets of O.J.’s personality, through never before heard statements by O.J. himself. The documentary exposes disturbing realities about O.J.’s thoughts, feelings and behavior before, during and after the trial. And, for the first time in 20 years, an audio recording that O.J. secretly taped, prior to the infamous Bronco Chase, is heard. The special features rare interviews with key players on both sides of the case, including extensive, candid discussions with Robert Kardashian and Kris Kardashian Jenner.

 

The A&E special, “O.J. Speaks: The Hidden Tapes,” provides unique access to the civil trial, which found O.J. responsible for the wrongful deaths of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ron Goldman. Viewers gain exclusive access to the plaintiffs’ deposition tapes from the civil trial – which were locked away and buried in a storage warehouse for nearly 20 years. Executive producers, Stephen Auerbach and Chuck Braverman, worked closely with Fred Goldman to obtain the revealing and insightful deposition tapes. Family members, including Fred, and members of the civil trial legal team, including Daniel Petrocelli, are interviewed exclusively for the special.

 

“The Secret Tapes of the O.J. Case: The Untold Story” and “O.J. Speaks: The Hidden Tapes” are produced for LMN and A&E by ABS Productions. Stephen Auerbach, Chuck Braverman and Lawrence Schiller are executive producers for ABS Productions. Laura Fleury and Peter Tarshis serve as executive producers for LMN and A&E.

 

About A&E

Now reaching more than 96 million homes, A&E is the home to quality original content that inspires and challenges audiences to BE ORIGINAL. A&E offers a diverse mix of uniquely immersive entertainment ranging from the network’s original scripted series, including “Bates Motel” and “Damien” to signature non-fiction franchises, including “Duck Dynasty,” “Wahlburgers” and “Storage Wars.” The A&E website is located at aetv.com. Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/aetv and Facebook at facebook.com/AETV. For more press information and photography, please visit us at press.aenetworks.com.

 

About LMN

With a diverse mix of original movies and series, LMN is the entertainment destination for women to connect to powerful stories and experience real emotion. LMN is currently the top network among women in 85 million homes or less.  LMN is a division of A+E Networks, a joint venture of the Disney-ABC Television Group and Hearst Corporation. For more press information and photography, please visit us at press.aenetworks.com.

 

#  #  #

 

 

 

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534