February 26, 2014

A+E Networks Unveils FYI’s First Programming Slate and July 7 Launch Date

FYI™ UNVEILS FIRST PROGRAMMING SLATE

Greenlights Six Series and Two Pilots to Production

New Lifestyle Network from A+E Networks set to debut July 7, 2014

 

NEW YORK, February 26, 2014 – Set to launch on July 7, FYI has commissioned its first round of original series and pilots reflecting the network’s goal of inspiring personal creativity across all aspects of viewers’ lives. The announcement was made today by Jana Bennett, President of FYI and LMN.

 

FYI offers a more adventurous approach to viewers’ taste, space, look, journey and more. The network’s programming embraces the way a new generation experiences their lives today, not defined by one passion or interest. Appealing to an upscale audience, FYI is creating inspired entertainment with a younger, more modern sensibility.

 

“FYI is scouring the globe for new talent and partnering with the industry's top producers to commission thought-provoking and inspirational lifestyle content,” said Bennett. “Embracing the network’s approach to a personalized experience for each viewer, we are excited to announce our first slate of series and pilots in-development.”

 

New Original Series:

 

“The Epic Meal Show” (working title) - 16 half-hour episodes

With more than 600 million viewsin weekly webisodes and 6 million YouTube subscribers to date, Harley Morenstein, aka the "Sauce Boss,” and his kitchen crew are ready for primetime television. The Epic Meal Time team delivers recipes that are visually mind-blowing spins on food preparation and presentation. This FYI series will follow the ingenious group as they invent spectacular new dishes. Produced for FYI by The Collective and Nexttime Productions. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy, Liz Fine and Audra Smith.

 

“The Feed” (working title) - 6 one-hour episodes

Part road show, part buddy comedy, part talk show - this is a deliciously inventive new series celebrating food in all its creative, ingenious glory. Three unique and distinctly opinionated hosts - culinary expert and “Top Chef” judge Gail Simmons; rock star super-chef and “The Taste” judge Marcus Samuelsson; and comedian and food-blogger Max Silvestri - anchor a rollicking adventure into the creative world of cooking, food trends and food culture in America. Produced for FYI by Giant Pirates. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy and Lauren Wohl. Ross Jacobson and Troy Searer are Executive Producers for Giants Pirates. Gail Simmons and Marcus Samuelsson serve as Executive Producers.

 

“World Food Championships” - 6 one-hour episodes

Hosted in Las Vegas, The World Food Championships is one of the most ambitious and authentic food competitions held annually. This series follows talented home cooks and professional chefs from across America as they compete to create dishes mouth-wateringly creative enough to win their food category. From burgers, BBQ, sandwiches, bacon and family recipes - there is a winner for each competition, culminating in a grand finale with a shot at winning a $50,000 prize. Co-hosted by Jeffrey Saad, a chef, author and Chicago-based restaurant owner; and Tiffany Derry, a Dallas-based chef and “Top Chef” alum. Produced for FYI by Sharp Entertainment. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy and Toby Faulkner. Dan Adler, Jennifer O’Connell, Larry Hochberg and Matt Sharp are Executive Producers for Sharp Entertainment.

 

“Tiny House Nation” (working title) - 10 one-hour episodes

From micro-apartments in Manhattan to exquisite tiny row homes in Savannah, “Tiny House Nation” (W.T.) is a series that celebrates the exploding movement of tiny houses. From high price to low cost, this is not your normal design show, but one that proves size doesn't always matter - it's creativity that counts. Viewers will meet a new family in each episode as they burst open the doors to the trend of extreme downsizing. Our expert host and team of tiny house builders will help each family design and construct a new mini-dream home no larger than 300 square feet. Traveling far and wide, our host will also show viewers the best and most ingenious small spaces America has to offer. Produced for FYI by Loud TV. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy and Toby Faulkner. Brent Montgomery, Nick Rigg and Shawn Witt are Executive Producers for Loud TV.

 

“Renovation Row” (working title) - 10 one-hour episodes

Each episode of this series follows three new teams - from first-time homebuyer’s to talented renovation experts - as they battle it out through a transformation showdown of identical urban homes. Taking on dilapidated houses in distressed neighborhoods, the teams will renovate one home each - while also living together - in a bid to raise the property value of the community surrounding them. The team, who increases the value of their home to the max, goes home with a grand prize. Produced for FYI by Jane Street Entertainment. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy, James Bolosh and Toby Faulkner. Donna MacLetchie and Linda Leeare are Executive Producers for Jane Street Entertainment.

 

“B.O.R.N. to Style” - 10 one-hour episodes

“B.O.R.N. to Style” is a lifestyle makeover series centered on a “fierce” team from New York, and their larger than life boss, Jonathan Bodrick. Springing from the Harlem-based eclectic boutique, B.O.R.N. (borrowed, old, refurbished and new), the style super heroes land at the door of those desperately in need of some “color in their lives.” By rifling through their client’s belongings and asking blunt questions, the team at B.O.R.N. gets to the root of their fashion malaise, before whisking them away for a transformation that goes beyond just their look. In each episode, viewers will see them offer up their own brand of therapy and inspiration to clients as they transform them into their best possible selves. Produced for FYI by Left/Right. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy, Liz Fine and Lauren Wohl. Banks Tarver, Dean Slotar, Ken Druckerman and Tracey Kemble are Executive Producers for Left/Right.

 

Pilots in Development:
 

“Jennifer’s Way” (working title) - half-hour pilot

Viewers will follow Jennifer Esposito, an actress-turned-entrepreneur and advocate for Celiac disease, as she strives to expand her gluten-free bakery, Jennifer's Way, from a single storefront in NYC to an empire of packaged goods, cookbooks and franchise locations across the country. On a mission to inspire and help meet the needs of others who suffer from gluten intolerance and food allergies like herself - Jennifer spends countless late night’s recipe testing for her new cookbook and bakery. Surrounded by her rambunctious team, model boyfriend and outrageous mom – it’s no small task for an actress from Staten Island who is learning the business as she goes along. Produced for FYI by Atlas Media. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy and Lauren Wohl. Bruce David Klein is Executive Producer and Lorri Leighton is Co-Executive Producer for Atlas Media.

 

“Red Hot Design” (working title) - half-hour pilot

Shasta Smith is the Queen of “upscaling.” This fiery redhead is chief designer, welder, creator and entrepreneur of a successful furniture and artworks shop based in California. Shasta and her crew take unusual and unique materials - from motorcycle hubcaps to airplane wings - and transform them into amazing upscale pieces of furniture and artwork for demanding clients.

Produced for FYI by Cineflix Productions. Executive Producers for FYI are Gena McCarthy and Toby Faulkner. Charles Tremayne is Executive Producer and Mary Swanhaus is Co-Executive Producer for Cineflix Productions.

 

 

About FYI

FYI™ is a contemporary lifestyle network set to debut on July 7, 2014. For your inspiration, for your imagination or for your innovation, the network embraces an adventurous, personalized and non-prescriptive approach to lifestyle content. From our viewer’s taste, space, look, journey and more – FYI covers a range of experiences that reflect how people actually live their lives today, not defined by one passion or interest. FYI is a division of A+E Networks, a joint venture of the Disney-ABC Television Group and Hearst Corporation. For press information and photography please visit us on the web at: press.aenetworks.com.

 

# # #

 

For More Information

  • Kannie Yu LaPack
    Vice President, Publicity
    Kannie.YuLaPack@aenetworks.com
    310-556-7582
  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Gina Nocero
    Senior Director, Publicity
    Gina.Nocero@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9163
  • Dan Silberman
    Senior Vice President, Publicity
    Dan.Silberman@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9114
  • Kerri Tarmey
    Vice President, International Marketing & Communications
    Kerri.Tarmey@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1504
  • Michael Feeney
    Executive Vice President, Corporate Communications
    Michael.Feeney@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1328
  • Vicky Kahn
    Vice President, Corporate Communications
    Vicky.Kahn@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9743
  • Shannon Kerr
    Senior Manager, International Publicity & Communications
    Shannon.Kerr@aenetworks.com
    212-641-3341
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Jim Agius
    Executive Vice President, National Ad Sales, A&E, BIO
    Jim.Agius@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1319
  • Brian Joyce
    Vice President, A&E/BIO Ad Sales
    Brian.Joyce@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1430
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Risa Rosenthal
    Vice President, Direct Response
    Risa.Rosenthal@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9115
  • Bob Wall
    Senior Director, A&E/BIO Partnerships
    Bob.Wall@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9157
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Amy Baker
    Executive Vice President, National Ad Sales, Lifetime, LMN, LRW
    Amy.Baker@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9096
  • Teryl Brown
    Vice President, Ad Sales
    Teryl.Brown@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9768
  • Eleanor Johnson
    Director, Partnerships
    Eleanor.Johnson@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0407
  • Rebecca Miller
    Director, Ad Sales Research
    Rebecca.Miller@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1521
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Heather Iorio
    Director, Ad Sales Research
    heather.iorio@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9039
  • Tracy Speed
    Senior Director, Publicity
    Tracy.Speed@aenetworks.com
    310-556-7541
  • Megan Tantillo
    Senior Director, Publicity
    Megan.Tantillo@aenetworks.com
    310-556-7542
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • Kristine Tiongco
    Manager
    Kristine.Tiongco@aenetworks.com
    310-556-7590
  • Danielle Carrig
    Senior Vice President, Publicity and Public Affairs
    Danielle.Carrig@aenetworks.com
    310-407-6295
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Theresa Black
    Director, Publicity
    Theresa.Black@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8519
  • Jaime Yandolino
    Senior Director, Publicity
    Jaime.Yandolino@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0930
  • Dan Silberman
    Senior Vice President, Publicity
  • Heather Pastorini
    Vice President, Publicity
    heather.pastorini@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9760
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Dee Perez
    Publicity Specialist
    Dee.Perez@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8538
  • Kara Marrujo
    Publicity Coordinator
    Kara.Marrujo@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8540
  • Melissa Koshir
    Manager, Publicity
  • Susan Ievoli
    Vice President, Publicity
    Susan.Ievoli@aenetworks.com
    212-907-9447
  • Kristen Hynes
    Senior Manager, Publicity
    Kristen.Hynes@aenetworks.com
    212-857-6320
  • Melissa Koshir
    Manager, Publicity
    Melissa.Koshir@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0412
  • Megan Tantillo
    Senior Director, Publicity
    Megan.Tantillo@aenetworks.com
    310-556-7542
  • Dan Silberman
    Senior Vice President, Publicity
    Dan.Silberman@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9114
  • Katherine Taylor
    Manager, Publicity
    Katherine.Taylor@aenetworks.com
    310-407-1692
  • Melissa Koshir
    Manager, Publicity
    Melissa.Koshir@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0412
  • Olivia Balog
    Assistant, Publicity
    Olivia.Balog@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0439
  • Ellen Wray
    Jr. Publicist
    ellen.wray@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0422
  • Melissa Koshir
    Manager, Publicity
    Melissa.Koshir@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0412
  • Kerri Tarmey
    Vice President, Publicity - A&E + HISTORY
    Kerri.Tarmey@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1504
  • Lauren Bienvenue
    Senior Manager, Publicity
    lauren.bienvenue@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0303
  • Kirby Dixon
    Manager, Publicity
    Kirby.Dixon@aenetworks.com
    212-461-9282
  • Corinn Piazza
    Jr. Publicist
    corinn.piazza@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0955
  • Stephanie Rose
    Jr. Publicist
    stephanie.rose@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7221
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534
  • Rob Moynihan
    Vice President, A+E Studios Publicity
    Rob.Moynihan@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8527
  • Lauren Bobek
    Communications Assistant
    lauren.bobek@vice.com
  • Perri Cohen
    Deputy Director of Communications
    perri.cohen@vice.com
  • Marc Liepis
    Vice President of Communications
    marc.liepis@vice.com
  • Lauren Bobek
    Communications Assistant
    lauren.bobek@vice.com
  • Marc Liepis
    Vice President of Communications
    marc.liepis@vice.com
  • Perri Cohen
    Deputy Director of Communications
    perri.cohen@vice.com