February 18, 2014

A&E Presents ‘Breaking Boston’ from Executive Producer Mark Wahlberg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Laurén Bienvenue, (212)351-0303
Lauren.Bienvenue@aenetworks.com


A&E NETWORK PRESENTS ‘BREAKING BOSTON’
FROM EXECUTIVE PRODUCER MARK WAHLBERG

DOCUDRAMA FOLLOWS GROUP OF WORKING CLASS WOMEN IN THEIR TWENTIES TRYING TO BREAK THE MOLD AND BETTER THEIR LIVES
PREMIERING THURSDAY, MARCH 13 AT 10PM ET/PT

 

NEW YORK, NY – FEBRUARY 18, 2014 – A&E Network debuts “Breaking Boston,” a new original docudrama featuring a group of working class women coming of age with the odds stacked against them, premiering Thursday, March 13 at 10PM ET/PT.

“Breaking Boston” follows a group of four blue-collar women in their twenties trying to break the cycle of their peers in a town where education, employment and opportunities are hard to come by. Each one of them has already hit rock bottom via destructive relationships or bad choices, but they’re all leaning on each other and looking for a way out.

Executive producer Mark Wahlberg mirrored this series on his own life and experiences in Boston. Recently earning his high school diploma at the age of 42, Mark can certainly relate to bad influences of peers and lack of emphasis on education. “These are real women telling their original stories of trying to break out of what’s expected of them,” said Wahlberg. “The odds are difficult, but I believe they can make it.”

The series joins them at a critical time in their life; where they’re trying to shed their pasts in order to pave way for their future. Kristina, 29, faced jail time when her ex-boyfriend was caught running a drug ring out of their shared home but was acquitted and is now trying to move on with her new boyfriend Mikey while pursuing a career in hair styling. Valerie, 22, had two DUIs and a jail sentence on her record before she graduated high school and is now trying to attend college with a tarnished record and no financial aid. Noelle, 25, recently suffered the loss of her brother to a tragic car accident and is finding it difficult to move on with her life while living at home and supporting her mother. Courtney, 25, is a single mom with a 7th grade education and a dream to get into beauty school.

“Breaking Boston” is produced for A&E Network by 44 Blue Productions, Closest to the Hole Productions, Leverage Entertainment and Bill Thompson Productions. Mark Wahlberg, Stephen Levison and Bill Thompson are executive producers. Executive producers for 44 Blue Productions are Stephanie Drachkovich and Jennifer Colbert. Executive producers for A&E Network are Lily Neumeyer and Devon Graham.

 

About A&E Network
Now reaching 100 million homes, A&E is the home to 100% original content that inspires and challenges audiences to BE ORIGINAL.A&E offers a diverse mix of high quality, uniquely immersive entertainment ranging from the network’s original scripted series, including “Bates Motel,” “Longmire” and “Those Who Kill,” to signature non-fiction franchises, including “Duck Dynasty,” “Beyond Scared Straight” and “Storage Wars.”The A&E website is located at aetv.com.  Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/aetv and Facebook at facebook.com/AETV.For more press information and photography please visit us at press.aenetworks.com.

 

# # #

 

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534