February 18, 2016

HISTORY Launches Late-Night Comedy Block 'Night Class' on February 25 at 11:30 PM ET/PT

HISTORY® TO LAUNCH LATE-NIGHT COMEDY BLOCK
‘NIGHT CLASS’ WITH THREE ORIGINAL SHORT-FORMAT SERIES
‘GREAT MINDS WITH DAN HARMON,’ ‘THE CROSSROADS OF HISTORY,’
AND ‘HOW TO LOSE THE PRESIDENCY’
ON THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 25 AT 11:30 PM ET/PT


Featuring Jack Black, Dana Carvey, Aubrey Plaza, and Jason Sudeikis

 

NEW YORK, NY – February 17, 2016 – HISTORY presents “Night Class,” a short-form, late-night comedy block premiering Thursday, February 25 at 11:30PM ET/PT, it was announced today by Paul Cabana, Executive Vice President and Head of Programming of HISTORY.

“HISTORY is excited to forge new territory in the late-night landscape with compelling and bold content that will speak to a new audience,” said Cabana. “’Night Class’ is rooted in real fact, yet full of razor sharp humor and wit.”

“Night Class” premieres with three original short-form comedy series and additional series will be added to the block. The first to premiere include:

·         “Great Minds with Dan Harmon” – Created by Dan Harmon (“Community,” “Rick and Morty”) and Richard Korson (“The Daily Show”, “Those Who Can’t”), the series follows Harmon who invests in a time machine and is subsequently visited by history’s greatest minds. Harmon discusses his visitors’ lives and brings them out into the modern world, embarking on an adventure that drops these famous historical figures right into today’s advanced society.

 

“Great Minds with Dan Harmon” features a stellar group of comedic performers including: Jack Black (School of Rock) as Ludwig Van Beethoven, Jason Sudeikis (We’re the Millers), Dana Carvey (“Saturday Night Live”), Aubrey Plaza (“Parks and Recreation”), Kristen Schaal (“Bob’s Burgers”, “30 Rock”), Scott Adsit (“30 Rock”) as Ernest Hemingway, Andy Dick (“Comedy Bang! Bang!”), Ron Funches (“Undateable”), Paul F. Tompkins (“Comedy Bang! Bang!”), Thomas Middleditch (“Silicon Valley”) and Robert Smigel (“Saturday Night Live”).  

“Great Minds with Dan Harmon” is produced for HISTORY by Matador. Dan Harmon, Richard Korson and Jay Peterson serve as executive producers. Tim Healy and Paul Cabana are executive producers for HISTORY.

 

·          “The Crossroads of History” – Created and written by Elizabeth Shapiro, the scripted short form series examines the fascinating and largely unknown moments in history that have shaped the world. “Crossroads of History” will lift the veil on famous events and expose little known but historically accurate facts of the story, such as: how President Lincoln’s alcoholic bodyguard, John Parker, chose the wrong night to leave his post at the Ford Theatre and how rejection from art school set a young artist, Adolf Hitler, on a very different career path.

“The Crossroads of History” will include talent such as, Lou Diamond Phillips (“Blindspot”, La Bamba), Brian Baumgartner (“The Office”), Angela Kinsey (“The Office”), Keir O’Donnell (“Fargo”), Jack McBrayer (“30 Rock”), Wayne Knight (“Seinfeld”), Lloyd Ahlquist (“Epic Rap Battles of History”) and Paul Scheer (“The League”).

 

“The Crossroads of History” is produced for HISTORY by Trium Entertainment and Maker Studios. Elizabeth Shapiro is writer, creator and executive producer. Mark Koops, Eric Day and Anthony Samadani are executive producers for Trium Entertainment. Bonnie Pan, Rhoades Rader and George Woolley are executive producers for Maker Studios. Tim Healy and Paul Cabana are executive producers for HISTORY.

·         “How to Lose the Presidency” – Throughout the history of presidential elections there are always those inspirational moments that propel a candidate to victory. These are not those moments. “How to Lose the Presidency” showcases real clips of embarrassing moments and mistakes from Howard Dean’s scream heard round the world and Rick Perry’s time of forgetfulness to outrageous moments in the current presidential campaign.

 

“How to Lose the Presidency” is produced for HISTORY by Red Marble Media. Kevin Fitzpatrick, Stephen Dost and Jonathan Santos serve as executive producers. John Verhoff is executive producer for HISTORY.

 

About HISTORY®

HISTORY®, now reaching more than 96 million homes, is the leading destination for award-winning series and specials that connect viewers with history in an informative, immersive and entertaining manner across all platforms. The network’s all-original programming slate features a roster of signature series including “Pawn Stars,” “American Pickers,” “Swamp People,” “Alone” as well as the hit drama series “Vikings.”  The HISTORY website is located at history.com. Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/history and Facebook at facebook.com/history. For more press information and photography, please visit us at http://press.aenetworks.com

###

 

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534
  • Rob Moynihan
    Vice President, A+E Studios Publicity
    Rob.Moynihan@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8527