November 29, 2017 Susan Ievoli
susan.ievoli@aenetworks.com
212-907-9447

HISTORY Uncovers Never-Before-Broadcast Audio Recordings With Charles Manson in New Two-Night Special Premiering Dec. 3 at 9PM ET/PT

HISTORY® UNCOVERS NEVER-BEFORE-BROADCAST AUDIO RECORDINGS WITH CHARLES MANSON THAT MAY ALTER THE SCOPE OF HIS HEINOUS CRIMES

Two-Night, Four-Hour Special ‘Manson Speaks: Inside The Mind Of A Madman’ Premieres Sunday, December 3 and Monday, December 4 at 9PM ET/PT

New York, NY – November 29, 2017 – Two weeks after the death of Charles Manson, HISTORY and Lucky 8 TV (“60 Days In,” “Released”) will reveal new riveting evidence that suggests the Manson Family’s reign of terror may have extended beyond their notorious Los Angeles murders in “Manson Speaks: Inside The Mind Of A Madman,” premiering Sunday, December 3 at 9PM ET/PT. In addition to chronicling one of the most infamous crimes in U.S. history, the four-hour, two-night special investigates other mysterious deaths from the same timeframe and reveals new accounts of Manson’s violence and influence over others. The special also examines 26 hours of exclusive never-before-broadcast phone conversations with Manson that may change the scope of his crimes, almost five decades later.

Cult leader Charles Manson was the mastermind behind the brutal murders of nine people – seven occurring over a two-night killing spree in Los Angeles in 1969, including pregnant actress Sharon Tate. Two years later, Manson and many of his followers were found guilty of some of the most vicious murders in California’s history. Cliff Shepard, a retired cold case and robbery-homicide detective with the Los Angeles Police Department who is responsible for catching some of LA’s most dangerous serial killers – has been haunted by the Manson murders his entire career. Convinced that Manson’s crimes extend beyond the nine murders for which he was convicted, Shepard, alongside researcher Charlie Cook, has launched his own investigation to uncover the truth. Key to Shepard’s efforts is unparalleled access to 26 hours of never-before-broadcast audio recordings of Manson and confidant-turned-author Marlin Marynick. Marynick recorded his phone calls with Manson over roughly 10 years, and in these conversations, Manson speaks cryptically about Sharon Tate and others. Detective Shepard scours the calls for new evidence as he also investigates two other deaths – the gruesome murder of a 19-year-old girl and a mysterious suicide – that he believes may be connected to the Manson Family.

The two-part special also presents a new theory on Manson’s motives that does not align with the “Helter Skelter” theory he was prosecuted under; brings forth eye witnesses who are speaking publicly about Manson for the first time; and makes contact with the only convicted Manson Family killer who is currently out of prison and living under a pseudonym.

“Charles Manson was one of the most notorious murderers of the 20th century, occupying a dark place in American culture,” said Eli Lehrer, Executive Vice President of Programming, HISTORY. “After four decades in prison, Manson’s death is an impactful part of our current history and our special offers an in-depth look at a cult leader who horrified and fascinated a nation. Through Manson’s own words in countless hours of exclusive audio conversations we uncover shocking information that may change how we perceive the history of his crimes.”

“Manson Speaks: Inside The Mind Of A Madman” is produced for HISTORY by Lucky 8 TV. Kim Woodard, Greg Henry and Aric Laferriere are executive producers for Lucky 8. Zachary Behr and Jennifer Wagman are executive producers for HISTORY.

About HISTORY®

HISTORY®, now reaching more than 96 million homes, is the leading destination for award-winning series and specials that connect viewers with history in an informative, immersive and entertaining manner across all platforms. The network’s all-original programming slate features a roster of signature series including “Pawn Stars,” “American Pickers,” “The Curse of Oak Island,” “Alone” as well as the hit drama series “Vikings.”  The HISTORY website is located at history.com. Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/history and Facebook at facebook.com/history. For more press information and photography, please visit us at http://press.aenetworks.com.

 

###

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534
  • Rob Moynihan
    Vice President, A+E Studios Publicity
    Rob.Moynihan@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8527