January 10, 2017 Ellen Wray
ellen.wray@aenetworks.com
212-351-0422

HISTORY's New Unscripted Series "Detroit Steel" Premieres Saturday, January 28 at 10PM

 

HISTORY’S® NEW UNSCRIPTED SERIES ‘DETROIT STEEL’ CELEBRATES THE MOTOR CITY’S RICH AUTOMOTIVE LEGACY BY BRINGING CUSTOM RIDES TO LIFE

SERIES PREMIERES SATURDAY, JANUARY 28 AT 10 PM ET/PT

New York, NY—January 10, 2016—HISTORY’s® new unscripted series “Detroit Steel” celebrates the Motor City’s automotive legacy by creating rare, custom rides that mix Detroit’s celebrated past and its evolving future. Adam Genei and the team at his car customization shop, Mobsteel, give vintage cars a modern, mean look when the eight episode series premieres Saturday, January 28 at 10PM ET/PT on HISTORY.

From the days of Henry Ford and the Model T, Detroit has always been where car legends are born.  Though the city has had its ups and downs, Genei and his wife and co-owner, Pam, are committed to fostering American engineering and bringing back Detroit one car at a time.  Like their slogan says, Mobsteel, along with Adam’s sister business Detroit Steel Wheels, builds “rides to die for.” From classic cars that call back to America’s automotive roots to muscle cars that need a supercharged rebirth, the team is up for any challenge. Whether they are discovering hidden automotive treasures in a garage, a junkyard, or from a collector, they take full advantage of the history available in Detroit. If they can’t find a part, the Mobsteel team makes it themselves. The end product is a never-before-seen creation that transforms the best of Motown into a one-of-a-kind ride that is the envy of car enthusiasts across the country.

In the premiere episode, Genei is tasked with rebuilding a 1956 Oldsmobile Rocket 88 that is in rough shape, but brings back childhood memories for its owner, who worked in the Oldsmobile plant for over 35 years.  With the help of his welder Steve “Steve-O” Ryan, mechanic Doug Hanes, painter Ron Coan and co-owner Pam Genei, Adam takes the car from scrap metal to a custom ride fit for the 21st century. 

“Detroit Steel” is produced for HISTORY® by Hoff Productions. Executive producers for Hoff Productions are Michael Hoff, Bruce Klassen and Alex Hoff. Executive Producers for HISTORY® are Stephen Mintz and Tim Healy. A+E Networks holds worldwide distribution rights for “Detroit Steel.”

About HISTORY®

HISTORY®, now reaching more than 96 million homes, is the leading destination for award-winning series and specials that connect viewers with history in an informative, immersive and entertaining manner across all platforms. The network’s all-original programming slate features a roster of signature series including “Pawn Stars,” “American Pickers,” “The Curse of Oak Island,” “Alone” as well as the hit drama series “Vikings.”  The HISTORY website is located at history.com. Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/history and Facebook at facebook.com/history. For more press information and photography, please visit us at http://press.aenetworks.com

###

 

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534
  • Rob Moynihan
    Vice President, A+E Studios Publicity
    Rob.Moynihan@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8527