October 29, 2013

JFK ASSASSINATION THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE

Eye-Opening Findings From National HISTORY Survey Reveal

What Americans Today Believe, And Don’t Believe, About Who Killed JFK

 

JFK ASSASSINATION

THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE

 

Provocative Two-Hour HISTORY® Special Premieres on

November 22, the Tragedy’s 50thAnniversary

 

New York, October 2013 – Fifty years after the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, about which conspiracy theories still run rampant, there appears to be one thing most Americans now agree on: that shooter Lee Harvey Oswald was telling the truth.  According to an eye-opening national survey conducted by HISTORY 74% of Americans believe that Oswald was the fall guy for a larger alternate theory. That’s just one of the eye-opening findings revealed in JFK ASSASSINATION THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE, a provocative two-hour special that premieres Friday, November 22 at 8pm ET on HISTORY.

 

HISTORY polled thousands of Americans – the most expansive survey on the Kennedy assassination ever attempted, and the first in nearly a decade, representing citizens of every state and covering a wide range of ages and ethnic, economic and educational backgrounds -- to learn exactly what the country does and doesn’t believe regarding the shooting on that fateful day in Dallas and who was responsible. Public skepticism of the so-called “Lone Gunman Theory,” supported by the Warren Commission in 1964, is shockingly high. A total of 71% of Americans polled now don’t believe that explanation. JFK ASSASSINATION THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE explores the myriad alternative theories that Americans find more plausible. It’s an entirely new way to look at the assassination: through the eyes of the American people.

 

The special reveals that, at last count, there are a whopping 311 distinctly different conspiracy theories in which the finger of blame has been pointed at 42 groups, 82 assassins and 214 people. The suspects often cited range from the Mafia to Communists (those connected either to Castro or the Kremlin), from factions within the CIA to the Pentagon and members of the American military industrial complex, from the so-called “Umbrella Man” seen that day on the Grassy Knoll to, astonishingly, the limo driver in the front of the Kennedy car. JFK ASSASSINATION THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE examines these theories, confronting both the evidence and the ardent accusations, concluding on who the American people most believe is responsible for the death of JFK.

 

JFK ASSASSINATION THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE also includes insights and findings from some of the top JFK assassination experts, including such authors as Gerald Posner (Case Closed), Robert Groden (JFK: Absolute Proof), Vincent Bugliosi (Reclaiming History), Tom Stone (On the Trail of the Assassins), John McAdams (JFK Assassination Logic), David Kaiser (The Road to Dallas) and Dr. Cyril Wecht (Mortal Evidence). These men and others who are interviewed explain why each alternative theory has captured the American imagination and break down which theories are supported or discredited by the facts.

 

JFK ASSASSINATION THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE is produced for HISTORY by LWM. Carl H. Lindahl is Executive Producer for HISTORY. Executive Producers for LWM are Kirk Wolfinger and Tony Bacon.

 

HISTORY®, now reaching more than 98 million homes, is the leading destination for award-winning original series and specials that connect viewers with history in an informative, immersive and entertaining manner across all platforms. The network’s all-original programming slate, including scripted event programming, features a roster of hit series including American Pickers®, American Restoration™, Ax Men™, Counting Cars™, Ice Road Truckers®, Pawn Stars®, Swamp People® and Top Shot® as well as HISTORY®’s first scripted series Vikings, and epic miniseries and special programming such as The Bible and the Emmy® Award-winning Hatfields & McCoys, Gettysburg, Vietnam in HD, America The Story of Us®  and 102 Minutes That Changed America. The HISTORY® website is the leading online resource for all things history, and in 2011, the United States Library of Congress selected HISTORY®’s Civil War 150 site for inclusion in the historic collection of Internet materials related to the American Civil War sesquicentennial.  www.history.com. For more press information and photography, please visit us at http://press.aenetworks.com

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534
  • Rob Moynihan
    Vice President, A+E Studios Publicity
    Rob.Moynihan@aenetworks.com
    310-407-8527