September 18, 2015

LMN PREMIERES NEW ORIGINAL SERIES “THEY TOOK OUR CHILD: WE GOT HER BACK” ON WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 7 AT 10:00PM ET

CHILDREN WHO WERE ABDUCTED, HELD CAPTIVE AND THEN BRAVELY ESCAPED TELL THEIR HARROWING STORIES AS ADULTS

 

NEW YORK, NY – September 18, 2015 – LMN presents “They Took Our Child: We Got Her Back,” a new original series that reveals the stories of abducted children who escaped from the hands of their kidnappers; and the families who never gave up hope on getting them home safely. Seven one-hour episodes are set to premiere beginning on Wednesday, October 7 at 10:00pm ET on LMN.

 

Every day in America, over 1200 children are reported missing. Most are taken by a family member but for those few taken by strangers, if they are not found within the first 24 hours, the odds of them returning back alive are daunting. In the new LMN series, “They Took Our Child: We Got Her Back,” stories of children who were kidnapped by strangers, and who beat the odds and returned safely home are told.

 

Each episode features a single story, told by the formerly kidnapped child and the family members and investigators who tirelessly searched for them. Viewers will hear about the parents' frantic and relentless search for their child, and how they worked with law enforcement to bring them home. Through first-hand accounts, archival materials and true-to-life recreations, viewers will learn how the child was safely returned and how the perpetrator was captured. Episodes culminate with an emotional present day reunion between the adult child and the key person who helped save them from their kidnapper.

 

In the October 7th series premiere, the heroic story of then eight-year-old Midsi Sanchez is told. In 2000, Midsi was abducted while walking home from school. After two days of being chained inside her kidnapper’s car, Midsi was able to free herself and courageously escaped with the help of a truck driver who she today credits for saving her life. Forthcoming episodes include the stories of Jeannette Tamayo and Elizabeth Shoaf. Elizabeth was lured by a man posing as a police officer, while Jeanette was followed into her own home and taken by her kidnapper after he severely beat her family members. Both girls eventually were able to escape – with Jeanette gaining the trust of her kidnapper and Elizabeth sending a text message to her mother after she cleverly convinced her captor to let her play games on his cell phone.

 

“They Took Our Child: We Got Her Back” is produced for LMN by The Company with Charlie Ebersol, Mike Lanigan and Jason C. Henry as executive producers. Laura Fleury and Marilyn Fletcher serve as executive producers for LMN.

 

About LMN

With a diverse mix of original movies and series, LMN is the entertainment destination for women to connect to powerful stories and experience real emotion. LMN is currently the top network among women in 85 million homes or less. LMN is a division of A+E Networks, a joint venture of the Disney-ABC Television Group and Hearst Corporation. For more press information and photography please visit us on the web at press.aenetworks.com

 

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Mead Rust
    Dir Community Marketing
    Mead.Rust@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1534