January 15, 2013

STORIES FROM THE ROAD TO FREEDOM

Ordinary people laid the groundwork for a revolution from slavery to the White House – just by living their lives. Theirs are the stories we don’t know…

STORIES FROM THE ROAD TO FREEDOM

New Two-Hour Documentary Special Premieres

Saturday, February 16 at 10 p.m. on HISTORY®

 

New York, January 15, 2013 – The iconic images and sounds associated with America’s Civil Rights movement are well-known. By now, several generations of school children are familiar with the “Colored” signs on water fountains, the march on Washington, and Martin Luther King’s Dream. But what happened before the heroes and protests; court orders and riots? We’ve come a long way, but how did we get here?

STORIES FROM THE ROAD TO FREEDOM, a new two-hour special narrated by Deon Cole, premiering on Saturday, February 16 at 10 p.m. on HISTORY®, gives a fresh perspective of the black movement in America, from Emancipation to the Civil Rights era. The special uses first-hand accounts, rare audio recordings, never-before-seen archival footage, and home movies to chronicle African American life as lived by regular people, in their own words, through over 100 years of social upheaval.

STORIES FROM THE ROAD TO FREEDOM features an extraordinary collection of source material. In one of the only known recorded interviews of its kind, former slave Fountain Jordan describes the early days of emancipation. There is recently-discovered, never-before-broadcast footage of Ernest Beane, a Pullman Porter who documented his life on the rails, and an audio recording of an interview with World War I veteran Edward Nichols, who witnessed intense mob violence in Duluth, a year after the 1919 Red Summer riots erupted in dozens of cities across the U.S.

Other rarities include color footage of Richard and Mildred Loving, the interracial couple whose Supreme Court Case ended race-based legal restrictions on marriage; and outtakes from interviews with the first African American family to move into all-white Levittown, PA and the white neighbors who opposed it. Glimpses of everyday life can be seen in some of the earliest known African American home movies that were shot in wealthy black communities in Oklahoma in the aftermath of the Tulsa Riots; in the earliest known photographs of a Juneteenth celebration in Austin, TX in 1900; and in very rare and never-before broadcast footage from the 1954 All Black Memphis State Fair.

STORIES FROM THE ROAD TO FREEDOM is an unparalleled opportunity to see and hear from remarkable individuals who – for better or worse, whether they were aware of it or not – paved the way through the greatest social movement in American history.

STORIES FROM THE ROAD TO FREEDOM is produced for HISTORY by New Animal Productions. Executive Producer for HISTORY is Susan Werbe. Executive Producer for New Animal Productions is Nicole Rittenmeyer and Seth Skundrick. Yale Professor, Jonathan Holloway, Ph.D., served as historical consultant.

About HISTORY®
HISTORY® is the leading destination for factual entertainment, including award-winning original series and specials that connect viewers with history in an informative, immersive and entertaining manner across multiple platforms. The network’s all-original programming slate, including scripted event programming,  features a roster of hits including American Pickers®, American Restoration™, Ax Men™, Ice Road Truckers®, Pawn Stars®, Swamp People® and Top Shot® as well as epic mini-series and specials such as the Emmy® Award-winning Hatfields & McCoys, Gettysburg, Vietnam in HD, America The Story of Us, and 102 Minutes That Changed America. The HISTORY website is the leading online resource for all things history, and in 2011, the United States Library of Congress selected HISTORY’s Civil War 150 site for inclusion in the historic collection of Internet materials related to the American Civil War sesquicentennial.  www.history.com

For more information, http://press.aenetworks.com

###

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • Susan Ievoli
    Senior Director, Publicity
    susan.ievoli@aenetworks.com
    212-907-9447
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935
  • Ellen Wray
    Publicity Coordinator
    ellen.wray@aenetworks.com
    212-351-0422