October 18, 2013

Tall Trees, High Stakes, Big Adventure…AX MEN

The Hit Logging Series Returns for 7th Season

Sunday, November 10 at 9pm ET on HISTORY

 

New York, Oct. 17, 2013 – They’ve got Ax Appeal! The unforgettably rugged men – and the women – of AX MEN are back on HISTORY in what promises to be the most dangerous and thrilling season yet. Featuring some new faces alongside familiar favorites, season 7 of AX MEN, one of HISTORY’s most popular and long-running series, premieres Sunday, November 10 at 9pm ET.

 

From the Pacific Northwest to the Deep South, from mountaintop to river’s bottom, these rough-and-ready loggers will go wherever and do whatever it takes to find the “Green Gold” worth millions as they compete in this year’s race to be “King of the Mountain.” As a warm-up for the explosive new 20-episode season, HISTORY takes a look back at seasons past in a special episode that premieres Sunday, November 3 at 9pm ET. The episode recaps the logging legacies of the companies who have made it this far and introduces viewers to the new rivals fighting for a share in the timber business.

 

Logging is one of America’s oldest jobs – and one of the most dangerous, claiming lives every year.  Falling trees, bone-crushing equipment, razor-sharp cables and human error can kill in an instant. But for the AX MEN, it’s the life they know, the life they love and the life that makes them feel alive.

 

This season, a building boom has timber companies kicking into overdrive. They’ve got the biggest orders of their careers to fill, and at the highest prices.  That means a big season for two-time reigning champion Rygaard Logging of Washington. Keeping the crown won’t be easy for owner Gabe Rygaard, who’s working on a difficult site, with an inexperienced team. And Gabe will have to do it without his father, Craig, who retired at the end of last season. Gabe’s got even bigger problems when his arch-rivals Oakes Logging, who work in the same town, invade

Rygaard’s jobsite and try to dethrone the champ. Up in Alaska, Papac Logging, back from last year’s devastating season-ending work stoppage, is once again in the fray. Mike Papac has taken on his company’s biggest challenge to date, working mountainous terrain that have been declared “un-loggable,” as two previous companies that were vanquished by the site can attest.

 

Meanwhile, down south, in Louisiana, Shelby “Swamp Man” Stanga gets the order of a lifetime that could make him a millionaire – a whopping 200,000 board feet of wood – but it might prove to be a bigger job than one man, even a man as gung-ho as Shelby, can handle. Over in Florida, the feisty Dreadknots team takes on their mentors,  Chapman Logging, in a “log off,” with the winner controlling the river logging rights for the entire northern half of the state.

 

The season’s new faces include a couple of feisty Ax women. One is Katelyn M. Simsis, a knockout new member of the Deadknots. She’s Kracken’s cousin and every bit as tough as the boys. Then there’s Adrienne Preiss, who joins the Papac crew. She’s a rugged beauty whom a fellow logger describes as “my future ex-wife.”

 

AX MEN is one of several hit series produced for HISTORY by Original Productions. Executive producers for HISTORY are Russ McCarroll and Wendy Greene. Executive producers for Original Productions are Thom Beers, Philip D. Segal, Jeff Conroy and Sarah Whalen. Jeff Meredith is Co-Executive Producer.

 

 

HISTORY®, now reaching more than 98 million homes, is the leading destination for award-winning original series and specials that connect viewers with history in an informative, immersive and entertaining manner across all platforms. The network’s all-original programming slate, including scripted event programming, features a roster of hit series including American Pickers®, American Restoration™, Ax Men™, Counting Cars™, Ice Road Truckers®, Pawn Stars®, Swamp People® and Top Shot® as well as HISTORY®’s first scripted series Vikings, and epic miniseries and special programming such as The Bible and the Emmy® Award-winning Hatfields & McCoys, Gettysburg, Vietnam in HD, America The Story of Us®  and 102 Minutes That Changed America. The HISTORY® website is the leading online resource for all things history, and in 2011, the United States Library of Congress selected HISTORY®’s Civil War 150 site for inclusion in the historic collection of Internet materials related to the American Civil War sesquicentennial.  www.history.com. For more press information and photography, please visit us at http://press.aenetworks.com

 

For More Information

  • Caroline Mendoza
    Sony Pictures Entertainment
    Caroline_Mendoza@spe.sony.com
    212-833-6173
  • Kerri Tarmey
    Vice President, International Marketing & Communications
    Kerri.Tarmey@aenetworks.com
    212-551-1504
  • Victoria Richards
    FOXTEL Publicity
    victoria.richards@foxtel.com.au
    +61 (0)2 9813 7333 / +61 (0)418 630 100
  • Michael Krause
    Foundry Communications
    mkrause@foundrycomm.com
    212-586-7967
  • Suzanne Dobson
    Foundry Communications
    sdobson@foundrycomm.com
  • Celine Xerri-Brook
    International Media Relations
    gibraltar.brook@virgin.net
    +44 (0)1273 719 340
  • Mel Berning
    President, Ad Sales
    Melvin.Berning@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1321
  • Jen Duddy
    Vice President, Digital Ad Sales
    Jen.Duddy@aenetworks.com
    212-424-0892
  • David DeSocio
    Senior Vice President, Ad Sales Partnerships and Marketing
    David.DeSocio@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7385
  • Rick Basso
    Senior Vice President, Direct Response
    Rick.Basso@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7004
  • Chris Lenge
    Vice President, Business Development
    Chris.Lenge@aenetworks.com
    212-210-9714
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Ad Sales Chicago
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Ad Sales Los Angeles
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Ad Sales Detroit
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Christine Shaw
    BBC Worldwide Productions
    Christine.Shaw@bbc.com
    310-228-1620
  • Shawn Walker
    Vice President, Chicago Ad Sales
    Shawn.Walker@aenetworks.com
    312-819-3322
  • Stephen Rhee
    Vice President, Los Angeles Ad Sales
    Stephen.Rhee@aenetworks.com
    310-201-6020
  • Erica Driscoll
    Vice President, Detroit Ad Sales
    Erica.Driscoll@aenetworks.com
    248-680-7156
  • Sarah Shriver
    Vice President, A+E Networks Digital Ad Sales
    Sarah.Shriver@aenetworks.com
    212-424-7111
  • Marcela Tabares
    Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Marcela.Tabares@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Scott Cooper
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Jonathan Coleman
    -
    704-455-3209
  • Hannah Smith
    BskyB
    hannah.smith@bskyb.com
    +44 (0) 20 7032 6791
  • Michael Greco
    Executive Vice President, Ad Sales Research
    Michael.Greco@aenetworks.com
    212-210-1444
  • Jaclyn Atwood-Powell
    Publicity Manager, Lifestyle Channels, Shaw Media
    Jaclyn.Atwood@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7293
  • Jessica Gold
    Publicity Manager, Factual and Dramatic Channels, Shaw Media
    Jessica.Gold@shawmedia.ca
    416-966-7543
  • Christine Gonsior
    Edelman
    212-704-4505
  • Susan Ievoli
    Senior Director, Publicity
    susan.ievoli@aenetworks.com
    212-907-9447
  • A+E Networks
    Corporate Communications
    212-210-1400
  • Barbara Pianca
    A+E Networks UK
    barbara.pianca@aetn.co.uk
    +44 (0)20 7032 2935